Benidorm create unit against domestic violence


IN an announcement that took place at Local Police of Benidorm HQ this Tuesday, alongside the commemoration of the 173rd anniversary of their founding, the body confirmed that they will create a specific unit against domestic violence.

The unit will begin operation imminently and promises to expand coordination with the National Police and give greater attention to victims.

Juan Fuertes, Chief Intendant confirmed that the unit will begin its work once approved at the next Local Security Council meeting, with the Local Security Council being drafted to regulate its operation.

The main objectives of the unit will be to focus on prevention work – preventing new cases of aggression through expanding collaboration the National Police and exchanging and understanding data in regard to cases of abuse.

The mayor explained the unit will ensure enhanced follow up with victims, this issue being of greater concern than ever considering the exponential increase of murders of women by their partners being registered in Spain in the first quarter 2017.

Attendees at the announcement honoured the memory of Maria Laura, who was murdered at the hands of her husband in Benidorm last year.

Data in regard to the number of women who are currently victims of domestic violence in the city of Benidorm has not been published, however, on a national level, 20 women in Spain have already been slain by their partners in 2017.

The headquarters of the Local Police was the scene of this celebration

The announcement also remembered for active or retired officers who have passed away during the past year and recognised the work of all other members of the body.

Toni Pérez, Benidorm’s mayor, presented the Cross of Police Merit to officers Jaime Antonio Martinez Lara, Roque Pérez Garrigós, Norberto Romero Cutillas, Angel González Gómez, Alfonso Ruiz Cuesta, Jose Carlos Chiner Rozalén, Encarna Palomares Sánchez, and Antonio Jesús Diaz Serrano in recognition of their 25 years service in the force.

Also honoured were Francisco Nocete Rodríguez, Luis Sender Lázaro, Manuel Caicedo Guerrero and Roberto Casagrande Serer, four officers who have retired in the last year after almost 40 years in the force.

© No part of this web site may be reproduced without written permission from the publishers. All rights reserved. Todos los derechos reservados.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here