U3A Moraira-Teulada Annual General Meeting


ON MONDAY 6th March, the U3A Moraira-Teulada held its AGM and elected the new Committee for 2017/2018.
Prior to the formal part of the Meeting, 89 members renewed their membership, bringing the total so far to 1765, not bad for the first (just over) two months in 2017. This figure includes a total of 172 new members so far this year. Around 200 people attended the meeting and were treated to a free coffee.

The outgoing President, John Hopwood welcomed everybody to this 9th AGM and commenced with the normal business of approving last month’s Minutes and the reading of Reports.
John gave a short vote of thanks to the outgoing committee and said that he had enjoyed support and hard work from all of them. He could not wish for a better group of people to work with and he asked the members to join him in a round of applause, to show appreciation.

After John had made the second call for the AGM, the Annual Reports were made.
These were from the Treasurer, Carin Derksen, and the Travel Group; their audited balance sheets had been published on the website a week before the AGM, to enable members to familiarise themselves with the figures. After the Accounts were Adopted and Seconded, the members were asked to approve both sets, and did so with a show of hands. The Travel Group Report was read by Jill Cole, as the Travel Coordinator, Carol Mantle, was away leading a U3A trip to Cambodia, Vietnam and other exotic countries.

For the second part of the meeting, John handed over to the Election Officer Brian Nicholls, who introduced those who were standing for election. There were no changes to the committee from the previous year, there being no contested posts, despite the President’s plea for nominations from the, very large, membership. The members present voted unanimously to re-elect all those standing.

Two new people in the posts of Press Liaison Officer and Discounts Page Liaison had chosen not to become committee members.

This means that the new committee in the attached photo is as follows; Left to Right:
Speakers Liaison Eileen Haxon , New Members Liaison Shirley Tuckey , Groups Coordinator Prue Jackson, Treasurer Carin Derksen, Member without Portfolio John Freeman, Secretary Titch Crossfield, Vice President David Haxon , Deputy Secretary Margaret Roberts , President John Hopwood, Membership Secretary Pat Clarke and Deputy Treasurer Steve Higham.

Missing from the photograph are Carol Mantle, the Travel Group Coordinator and Lynn Clark, who is the Deputy Group Coordinator.

© No part of this web site may be reproduced without written permission from the publishers. All rights reserved. Todos los derechos reservados.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here