Cricket World Cup holders announce ICC trophy squad


AUSTRALIA HAVE included “once-in-a-generation” fast bowler Pat Cummins in their 15-man squad for this summer’s Champions Trophy in England.

The 23-year-old is selected alongside fellow fast bowlers Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and James Pattinson in captain Steve Smith’s squad.

Australia are in Group A alongside Bangladesh, New Zealand and England, and former bowler Brett Lee says their opponents should be “scared”, before adding “It’s a serious pace barrage.”

“What Pat Cummins can bring is pace, aggression, control and anything between that. He is a once-in-a-generation bowler and you have got to harness that amazing talent.

“Hazlewood is more of hitting the good length, day in and day out. With Starc you will be getting full, short, good length, yorkers, the whole thing.”

The dangerous Cummins is capable of bowling at speeds in excess of 95mph and is considered to be one of the best young pace bowlers in the World.

Group B of the 50 over a side competition, comprises World top ranking side South Africa plus, Sri Lanka, Pakistan and India.

This year’s ICC Champions trophy tournament will be held in England and Wales between June 1 and 18. The first match of the championships will see England face Bangladesh at The Oval on June 1.

The top eight teams in the ICC rankings as on 30 September 2015 qualified for the tournament. The eight teams were divided into two groups of four.

Bangladesh will make a return to the competition the first time since 2006, by replacing the West Indies, who lost their place in the Champions Trophy for the first time by finishing outside the top eight, in ninth position on the cut-off date.

This year’s matches will be split between three venues The Oval, Edgbaston and Sofia Gardens in Cardiff, with the final scheduled to be played on June 18 at The Oval.

Australia squad: Steve Smith (capt), David Warner, Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, James Pattinson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.

© No part of this web site may be reproduced without written permission from the publishers. All rights reserved. Todos los derechos reservados.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here