Almogia resident wins novel award



0

ALMOGIA RESIDENT, Paula Wynne, who appeared on the the BBC Show, Escape to the Continent, showing her and her husband’s quest to live in Spain, so Paula could become a full time writer, has won The People’s Book Prize for best fiction.

The People’s Book Prize announced its shortlist with Paula’s debut novel, The Grotto’s Secret competing against twelve other finalists for the fiction prize.

The People’s Book Prize 8th Awards Ceremony 2017 celebrated publishers and authors, voted for by the public. This was in the presence of Patron Frederick Forsyth CBE, at a dinner at Stationers’ Hall in London, with Sky News covering the event.

Frederick Forsyth, patron of the Prizes, was the guest of honour. After explaining how he wrote The Day of the Jackal, Frederick announced Paula’s thriller as the book voted by readers as their best novel.

Moving to Spain fulfilled Paula’s lifelong dream to write novels. The stunning view down the Valle del Guadalhorce between Malaga and Marbella to the distant mountains, gave birth to the fictional location of The Grotto’s Secret.

Paula said: ‘As I gazed at the tranquil view, a medieval character just popped into my head and I could see her in that landscape. She was so real and had a story to tell.’

While they waited for the house deeds to go through, Paula wrote feverishly to finish the book, before the book was ready to be edited and published by Prado Press.

The Grotto’s Secret reached the top 10 bestselling thrillers in November 2016 and has remained in the top 100 ever since.

Paula received an ‘Honourable Mention’ in the 75th Annual Writers Digest Writing Competition for two other novels (written and not yet published), which inspired her to continue writing.

She is ‘thrilled’ to hear that her readers describe the book as a ‘must’ for fans of Glenn Cooper, Kate Mosse, Steve Berry and James Rollins.

Paula lives between Newbury and Spain and has just darted back to Sierra Blanquilla, in the foothills of the magnificent Sierra del Torcal, to finish writing more thrillers.

On the announcement as the winner at the awards ceremony, Paula said: ‘I am thrilled and honoured to be amongst such esteemed authors. It’s so exciting to see The Grotto’s Secret as the winner! All my life I have been inspired by thriller authors like Frederick Forsyth to write my own suspence stories! ”

Paula is currently finishing the second and third novels that follow the character in The Grotto’s Secret. She also has another book in the series as well as a psychological thriller on the boil.

Here’s a list of all the winners: http://www.peoplesbookprize.com/winners2016.htm

Find out more about Paula and download sample chapters at www.paulawynne.com

LEAVE A COMMENT

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

We welcome comments from readers on our website and across our social networks. We invite you to discuss issues and share your views and we encourage robust debate and criticism provided it is civil.

However we reserve the right to reject or edit comments that:

• Contain offensive language
• Include personal attacks of any kind
• Are likely to offend or target any ethnic, racial, nationality or religious group
• Are homophobic, transphobic, sexist, offensive or obscene
• Contain spam or include links to other sites
• Are clearly off topic
• Impersonate an individual or organisation, are fraudulent, defamatory of any person, threatening or invasive of another’s privacy or otherwise illegal
• Are trolling or threatening
• Promote, advertise or solicit the sale of any goods or services

You grant us a non-exclusive, royalty-free, perpetual, worldwide licence to republish any material you submit to us, without limitation, in any format.