Costa Blanca North News Costa Blanca South News Costa del Sol News News Spain News UK News World News

Pulitzer prize winners 2020 announced

Colson Whitehead has claimed the prize for best fiction in this year’s Pulitzer Prize ceremony for his book, The Nickel Boys. Whilst the first ever prize for audio reporting goes to an episode of This American Life. The hit podcast. Mr Whitehead, This American life and writers from the New York times were among this years winners.

Speaking on an online video from her home the Pulitzer administrator, Dana Canedy referred to the “deeply troubled times” in which these prizes are being announced. However,  journalism on the whole remains as important as it’s ever been and how the arts continue to “sustain, unite and inspire”.

The prize for fiction went to Whitehead for his book, portraying the abuse in a reform school in Florida. It is the second time he has won the award as in 2017 his book The Underground Railroad picked up top spot and is now being made into an Amazon series.

The following categories winners are listed below:


  • Public Service: The Anchorage Daily News, in collaboration with ProPublica
  • Breaking News Reporting: The staff of the Louisville Courrier-Journal
  • Investigative Reporting: Brian M. Rosenthal, The New York Times
  • Explanatory Reporting: The staff of The Washington Post
  • Local Reporting: Staff of The Baltimore Sun
  • National Reporting: T. Christian Miller, Megan Rose and Robert Faturechi, ProPublica and Dominic Gates, Steve Miletich, Mike Baker and Lewis Kamb, The Seattle Times
  • International Reporting: The staff of the New York Times
  • Feature Writing: Ben Taub, The New Yorker
  • Commentary: Nikole Hannah-Jones, The New York Times
  • Criticism: Christopher Knight, Los Angeles Times
  • Editorial Writing: Jeffery Gerritt, Palestine Herald-Press
  • Editorial Cartooning: Bary Blitt, The New Yorker
  • Breaking News Photography: The photography staff of Reuters
  • Feature Photography: Channi Anand, Mukhtar Khan and Dar Yasin, The Associated Press
  • Audio Reporting: This American Life

Letters, Drama and Music

  • Drama: A Strange Loop, by Michael R. Jackson
  • History: Sweet Taste of Liberty: A True Story of Slavery and Restitution in America, by W. Caleb McDaniel
  • Biography: Sontag: Her Life and Work, by Benjamin Moser
  • Poetry: The Tradition, by Jericho Brown
  • General Nonfiction: The Undying: Pain, Vulnerability, Mortality, Medicine, Art, Time, Dreams, Data, Exhaustion, Cancer, and Care, by Anne Boyer and The End of the Myth: From the Frontier to the Border Wall in the Mind of America, by Greg Grandin
  • Music: The Central Park Five, by Anthony Davis
  • Fiction: The Nickel Boys, Colson Whitehead

Special Citation

  • Ida B. Wells

Information listings from

Spread the RTN News!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *