Top News

Spain’s Malaga and Granada will not move to Phase 2

The two provinces will not move into Phase 2 with the rest of Andalucia, it has been confirmed.

Health Minister, Salvador Illa, had stated earlier that only 47% of the country’s areas will move into the lighter lockdown phase with Granada and Malaga not being a part of those who will.

The government of Andalucia had asked that all provinces move forward as one, however officials in Madrid rejected the proposal, saying the busier areas of Granada and Malaga need to prove themselves first.

The areas in the region which will move onto phase two on Monday are Seville, Cadiz, Cordoba, Jaen, Almeria and Huelva.

Madrid and Barcelona finally moved into phase 1 today after having the highest Covid-19 death toll figures.

Phase 2 means there will be much less restrictions with more establishments such as hair salons being allowed to open and a return to ‘normality.’

The following regions will transition to Phase 2:

Andalusia (with the exception of Málaga and Granada), Castilla-La Mancha (with the exception of Toledo, Albacete and Ciudad Real), Galicia, the Balearic Islands (the island of Formentera moved to Phase 2 last week), the Canary Islands (the islands of La Gomera, La Graciosa and El Hierro are already in this phase), Basque Country, Asturias, Cantabria, Navarre, La Rioja, Aragón, Extremadura, Murcia, and the exclave cities of Ceuta and Melilla.


Spread the RTN News!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *